My June distraction…

In my previous post, I alluded to something that distracted me from my savings towards a 2014 Zero S electric motorcycle.  That distraction turned out to be a limited edition 2013 Brammo Empulse R, #6 out of a series of 32 built to Eric Bostrom’s specifications for electric motorcycle racing.

There was a long story behind it, but the short of it is that I bought it from a gentleman in Texas who was sad to part with it, but could not take it with him where his employer asked him to relocate.

Normally, these things would run close to $20K, but he let it go for $14K…and paid for shipping…and it only had 28 miles on the odometer…and it was brightly and garishly colored!  It would go so well with my high visibility yellow jacket and helmet!  How could I pass this up?

Sure, Brammos get less range (~60 miles at highway speeds) than the 80-100 highway miles of the Zero S or SR with Power Tank, but the Brammo can charge from empty to full in 3.5 hours, whereas the Zero would take over 10 hours to do the same.  I would rather not have to check into a hotel room every 100 miles of travel before going the next 100.  Also, despite the CHAdeMO adapter Zero sells, many CHAdeMO DC fast chargers don’t support charging battery packs with voltages as low as 100V, which both the Brammo and Zero have, so even having a CHAdeMO charger on board the Zero would only allow me to charge at a subset of the already rare CHAdeMO stations in my area.

Sure, I can only go about 60 highway miles at a time, but I can take advantage of many Level 2 charging stations around the Puget Sound.  How plentiful are they?  Search PlugShare.com for Seattle, Washington and look at all the green pins.

So what do I think of it?

It’s awesome.  It’s full of surprises.  I had no idea that I would feel comfortable on a sport bike, until I took a test ride back in April for Microsoft’s Earth Day Electric Vehicle Show that I organized.  Just a couple of weeks before that, I’d taken a test ride of the 2014 Zero S, which I posted about previously.  Both bikes perform well.  However, the Brammo is so much more comfortable.

I’ll have to write about it in more detail later, but yet another topic has caught my attention recently, and I can’t wait to share it with you.

In the meantime, here’s a video of one of my first rides.

This entry was posted in Brammo, Shopping, Zero Motorcycles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My June distraction…

  1. Pingback: The Electric Motorcycles on Display at The November 2014 International Motorcycle Show in Seattle | Electric Vehicle Envy

Leave a Reply

